Saturday, 23 September 2017
Latest news
Main » Louisville QB Lamar Jackson wins 2016 Heisman Trophy

Louisville QB Lamar Jackson wins 2016 Heisman Trophy

14 December 2016
Louisville QB Lamar Jackson wins 2016 Heisman Trophy

Jackson (who won with 2,144 points) was joined at the Heisman presentation by Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson (1,524), MI linebacker Jabrill Peppers (208), Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield (361) and his top target Dede Westbrook (209).

And with another year remaining before Jackson can declare for the National Football League draft, don't be shocked if he enters 2017 as the Heisman favorite as he seeks to make history and hoist the coveted hardware in consecutive seasons.

In that game, Jackson ran for four touchdowns and threw for another one, compiling 146 yards rushing and 216 yards passing.

Jackson is the first Heisman Trophy victor to play on a team that lost its last two games of the regular season since Tim Brown of Notre Dame in 1987.

We thought that Jackson's hurdles or touchdowns would be the best thing we've seen all season, however I couldn't have been more wrong. Lamar Jackson became the first Cardinal to ever win the award, while maintaining his humbleness and respect for his mother during the entire evening.

Watson finished third a year ago after becoming the first quarterback to throw for 4,000 yards and rush for 1,000.

According to Louisville's official Twitter account, Jackson became the sixth player in FBS history to throw for 20 touchdowns and rush for 20 touchdowns in the same season.

"The improvement Lamar has made since coming to Louisville has been fantastic", Louisville coach Bobby Petrino said.

Jackson outdid them all in his first season as Louisville's full-time starter, accounting for 51 touchdowns and averaging 410 yards per game in total offense.

Jackson tied an ACC mark with eight touchdowns in the season-opening victory over Charlotte, including matching a school mark with six touchdown passes.

"You wouldn't even know he's 19 by the way he's carrying himself", Michigan's Jabrill Peppers said.

Watson was third in Heisman voting previous year behind victor Derrick Henry of Alabama and Christian McCaffrey of Stanford.

He is the first player from Louisville to win the award.